top of page

Draymond Green is Not the Best Defender in NBA History.


Draymond Green is a very good defender. Green has the awards to defend his case. He led the NBA in steals in 2017,3x NBA All-Defensive First Team, 2x NBA All-Defensive Seconded team, and Defensive player of the year. To say he is the best defender that is a bit of a stretch though.


Tony Allen had something to say about that.


For this generation, the best defender of all time is Tony Allen. Allen is a 3xNBA All-Defensive first team and a 3xNBA All-Defensive second team. Kobe Bryant, one of the greatest scorers of all time said Tony Allen was the hardest person to score on.


There might even be better defenders than him. I will start with Gary Payton. His nickname is literally the glove. He is the NBA all-time steals leader and he is a 9x NBA All-Defensive first team. He never made the second team. Another example of an amazing defender is Michale Jeffery Jordan. He was also a 9x NBA All-Defensive first team. Dikembe Mutombo literally has a commercial for blocking shots. He won the defensive player of the year four times. He and Ben Wallace are tied for the most defensive players of the year all time. I can go on and on about this list too but I will stop here.


Draymond is a very good defender I will give him that. He is someone who believes in himself. That is just who he is but if I was Draymond I would do a little more research before I say "I am the best defender of all time."



Comments


bottom of page